INDIANAPOLIS (WTWO/WAWV) – A late race crash by Spencer Pigot proved to be the difference as Takuma Sato won the Indianapolis 500 for the 2nd time on Sunday evening. Sato had passed Scott Dixon with 28 laps to go to seize the lead. Dixon had led 111 laps in the race but was denied a chance to track down Sato when the race was not red flagged after Pigot’s crash.

IndyCar released the following statement: “IndyCar makes every effort to end races under green, but in this case following the assessment of the incident, there were too few laps remaining to gather the field behind the pace car, issue a red flag and then restart for a green-flag finish.” Graham Rahal finished 3rd followed by Santino Ferrucci, Josef Newgarden, Pato O’Ward, James Hinchcliffe, Colton Herta, Jack Harvey and Ryan Hunter-Reay.