Pitcher, Newcomer of the Year highlight ISU Postseason Awards


ST. LOUIS (WTWO/WAWV) – Headlined by Pitcher of the Year and Newcomer of the Year awards, five Indiana State baseball players were selected for All-Missouri Valley Conference honors by the league’s head coaches.

Geremy Guerrero was named Pitcher of the Year — the first time a Sycamore has earned the award in program history — while Aaron Beck earned Newcomer of the Year accolades marking consecutive years that an Indiana State student-athlete has earned the honor.

Indiana State placed a league-high five players on the all-conference first team. The Sycamores’ first-team selections included Jordan Schaffer (SS), Max Wright (C), Aaron Beck (OF), Geremy Guerrero (SP) and Connor Fenlong (RP). Guerrero and Wright also earned spots on the MVC all-defensive team.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories