30 Illinois counties now at COVID-19 warning levels, up from 20

Regional News

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WTWO/WAWV) — Thirty Illinois counties are considered to be at a warning level for COVID-19, the state’s Department of Public Health (IDPH) announced Friday. A county enters a warning level with the increase of two or more COVID-19 risk indicators that measure the spread of COVID-19.

Cook County, home to the city of Chicago, has been added to the list, as well as several not far from Terre Haute — Jasper, Cumberland, Effingham, Shelby and Fayette.

New to the list this week are the counties of Carroll, Cook, Cumberland, Effingham, Fayette, Henry, Jasper, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Johnson, Morgan, Perry, Pike, Sangamon, Shelby and Warren.

They join Bureau, Cass, Clinton, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Jefferson, Logan, Madison, Monroe, Moultrie, Randolph, St. Clair, Union, White, Will, and Williamson counties.

Clay, Franklin, Hancock, Jefferson, Logan, Moultrie, have been dropped from the list of counties with multiple warning metrics.

IDPH uses several indicators when determining if a county is experiencing stable COVID-19 activity, or if there are warning signs of increased COVID-19 risk in the county. Among those are examinations of weekly numbers — cases per 100,000 people, test positivity, hospital admissions and deaths. The state also considers clusters of cases and the availability of intensive care units in hospitals.

These metrics are intended for local level awareness to help local leaders, businesses, local health departments and the public make informed decisions about personal and family gatherings and activities. The metrics are updated weekly, from the Sunday and Saturday of the prior week.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories