SPRINGFIELD Ill. (WTWO/WAWV) — Gov. J.B Pritzker signed a bill into law Friday that will make it illegal to smoke in a vehicle with a child.
The new law, effective immediately, is an amendment to the Illinois vehicle code, and is classified as a petty offense.
Under this offense, the law states “a person shall not smoke in a motor vehicle containing a person under 18 years of age, regardless of whether the vehicle is in motion, at rest, or has its windows down.”
If found in violation of the law, a motorist can be fined up to $100 for the first offense, and up to $250 for the second. However, the law also states that an officer cannot stop a vehicle solely for this violation.
The state defines smoking as “inhaling, exhaling, burning, or carrying a lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe, weed, plant, regulated narcotic, or other combustible substance.”
Robinson resident Norma Lowe said parents who wish to smoke can, but she doesn’t think children should have to be subjected to the smoke.
Lowe said she is happy Illinois passed this law.
According to health officials second-hand smoke can lead to asthma, respiratory issues and, in children younger than 1, sudden infant death syndrome.