VIGO COUNTY, Ind. (WTWO/WAWV) — A number of community members that serve and support the Vigo County School Corporation were recognized today with an annual award.

The school corporation held a ceremony at Terre Haute South to honor 16 people with the Circle of Honor Award, a recognition for individuals for their commitment and connection to Vigo County Schools. Among those being honored, is Oscar Session.

Session moved to Terre Haute in 1941 and attended Glenn Middle and High School. As a basketball player, Session led his school’s team to two Wabash Valley Classic Championship victories. Session then went on to attend Michigan State University where he earned several degrees and began his teaching career with the Detroit Public School System in 1959. 

Session has also won many awards including the Humanitarian Award, an Elderly Award from the Greater Terre Haute branch of the NAACP, and the Outstanding Community Member Award from the Hamilton Center.

With a long career in education and school administration, Session shared why today was special to him.

“I’m glad the community and the school district recognize the importance of what they’re doing and I certainly appreciate to have an opportunity to do whatever I was able to do to influence the kids and encourage them in education,” Session said.

The other recipients of the Circle of Honor Award are as follows:

  • Bernard Ridens
  • Bonnie Monaghan
  • David Daniel Gossage
  • Sue Ann Lenderman Secondino
  • Patricia Fouty
  • Vernon Hux
  • LaVern Gibson
  • William Welch
  • Clarence Hood
  • Jane Dabney Shakelford
  • Reita Sue Schnabel
  • Dorothy Jerse
  • Jerry Mansfield
  • Donald Moffitt
  • Gregory Bell