Sugar Grove principal named top principal in West Central Indiana

Local News

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — Sugar Grove Elementary School principal Teresa Stuckey has been named the District 8 Elementary Principal of the Year by the Indiana Association of School Principals. District 8 covers Clay, Greene, Hendricks, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Vermillion and Vigo Counties.

Stuckey tells WTWO she has been an educator for 32 years and a principal at Sugar Grove Elementary for five. She tells us it’s nice to be honored by her colleagues, but says she’s just doing the same work they’ve been doing too.

Over the summer Stuckey helped ensure families had access to wifi during remote learning, which school buses helped make accessible. After a challenging year, she says it’s nice to get back to some normalcy.

“I’m just so excited that we are down to the last 20 days and we are still here and we are doing well. My faculty is healthy, my students are healthy … We’re getting to the point where we can do some things, plan some things, we are still going to have to socially distance and wear masks, but we have field day coming up, we have our fifth grade farewell, we’ve got a spirit week coming up and we’ve got some special things planned for teachers next week for teacher appreciation,” she said.

Stuckey says she wants to make sure her students and staff know they are loved. She says next year Sugar Grove will focus on the theme “we’re all different but at this school we swim together.”

She will be recognized at the 2021 Principals of the Year Recognition Celebration on Sunday, Nov. 21.

District Elementary School Principals of the Year are elected by their peers. One principal is honored from each of the 12 districts. From these 12 District Elementary Principal winners, one is chosen as the 2021 State Elementary Principal of the Year. The State winner will be announced at the award celebration.

The Indiana Association of School Principals is a not-for-profit, professional association serving over 3200 building level administrators in the state of Indiana.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories