TERRE HAUTE, Ind. (WTWO/WAWV) — The 2024 Miss Indiana State University has been crowned.

Piper Watkins, winner of Miss Indiana State University 2024. (Image courtesy of Indiana State University)

Piper Watkins, of Mooresville won the pageant, which grants her a scholarship as well as acting as a preliminary competition ahead of the Miss Indiana and Miss America scholarship programs.

Watkins is a communication major at ISU, and will compete at the Miss Indiana program in June. Contestants were judged in five areas of competition, a private interview, talent, evening gown, fitness, and on-stage interview regarding community service.

The first runner-up went to Sunshine Johnson of Terre Haute. Second runner-up went to Suzy Head of Mooresville. Third runner-up was Samantha Oliver of Switz City. And fourth runner-up went to Karla Perez of Camby.

When it came to the essay contest, the following awards were handed out;

  • Invisible Crown Award
    • Kaylee Bewley (Crown Point, Ind.) 
  • Always Keep Fighting Award
    • Samantha Springston (Dale, Ind.) 
  • L. Cheri Bradley Sycamore Ambassador Award
    • Eve McElhaney (Keystone, Ind.)
  • Protz Family Scholarship Award
    • Sabrina Malone (Robinson, Ill.) 

Other awards

Stazia Kieffaber (Ellettsville, Ind.) won the Delana Pearman Sycamore Spirit Award (Miss Congeniality)

Eve McElhaney (Keystone, Ind.) won the People’s Choice Award.

All competitors

  • Abigail Berry, Mooresville, IN, Elementary Education
  • Kaylee Bewley, Crown Point, IN, Criminology
  • Payton Crawford, Danville, KY, Criminology
  • Suzy Head, Mooresville, IN, Intelligence Analysis
  • Sunshine Johnson, Terre Haute, IN, Clinical Mental Health
  • Stazia Kieffaber, Ellettsville, IN, Psychology
  • Rylee Lemons, Bicknell, IN, Recreational Therapy
  • Sabrina Malone, Robinson, IL, Criminal Justice
  • Eve McElhaney, Keystone, IN, Political Science & Legal Studies
  • Maddie Miller, Oakwood, IL, Nursing
  • Samantha Oliver, Switz City, IN, Nursing
  • Daisy Parks, Bloomfield, IN, Pre-Medicine
  • Karla Perez, Camby, IN, Business
  • Candace Poff, Terre Haute, IN, Psychology
  • Kaylee Prewitt, Plainfield, IN, Public Health & Legal Studies
  • Liberty Scott, Marshall, IL, Human Development & Family Services
  • Samantha Springston, Dale, IN, Medical Laboratory Science, Specialized Biology, & Pre-Medicine
  • Piper Watkins, Mooresville, IN, Communication