TERRE HAUTE, Ind. (WTWO/WAWV) — Indiana State University has begun the search for the next university president. 

According to a release from Indiana State, there have been organizational developments made in the search for the institution’s 13th president. After a board of trustee meeting took place on Thursday, the board unanimously voted to approve the leadership of a Presidential Search Committee.

The committee is tasked with reviewing and interviewing applicants to advance to a group of finalists. The President Search Committee is comprised of the following:

  • John Pratt, Vice Chair, ISU Board of Trustees, Chair, Presidential Search Committee 
  • Cynthia Powers, Secretary, ISU Board of Trustees, Vice Chair, Presidential Search Committee 
  • Cheryl Roberson, ISU Board of Trustees 
  • Robert Casey, Chair, ISU Board of Trustees & Ex-Officio Committee Member 
  • Rex Kendall, ISU Chief of Staff & Ex-Officio Committee Member 
  • Andrea Angel, Vice President – University Advancement & CEO, ISU Foundation 
  • Brad Balch, Dean – Bayh College of Education 
  • Nick Bement, President – ISU Student Government Association 
  • Daniel “Dan” Clark, Professor & Coordinator, Social Science Education – Department of History 
  • Jon Ford, Community Representative 
  • Kenneth Games, Professor & Director of Graduate Studies – Department of Applied Medicine and Rehabilitation  
  • Alicia Jay, Assistant Professor – Department of Theater 
  • Diann McKee, Senior Vice President – Finance & Administration and University Treasurer 
  • Ahmed Mohamed, Associate Professor – Department of Applied Engineering and Technology Management 
  • Jin Park, Chair & Associate Professor – Department of Accounting, Finance, Insurance, and Risk Management 
  • JaDora Sailes, Associate Professor – Department of Applied Clinical and Educational Sciences 
  • Rita Burns Senseman, ISU Alumna & Community Representative 
  • Marie “Sam” Shanks, Chair – ISU Foundation Board 
  • Roxanne Torrence, Chair – ISU Staff Council 
  • Aryn Williams, Chair – ISU Alumni Board 

Bob Casey, Board of Trustees Chair, commented on the Board’s deep appreciation for President Deborah Curtis’s service to ISU since January 2018.

“Several weeks ago, President Curtis informed me of her intent to retire in 2024. She explained that this decision was based on self-reflection and family considerations. Although unexpected, I congratulated her on this culmination of a 38-year career in higher education, particularly her passionate dedication to her alma mater, Indiana State University. The decision to retire was made entirely by President Curtis herself, without any influence from the Board.” Casey said. “Indiana State University is well positioned to achieve remarkable milestones and continue to expand on its function as a vital asset to the Wabash Valley, the State of Indiana, and beyond. We are committed to identifying ISU’s 13th President who will share and lead this bold visionary outlook for the University.”