INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (WTWO/WAWV) — The caucus to determine who will fill Senator Jon Ford’s Senate District 38 seat at the Indiana Statehouse is set for October 7.

According to a release from the Indiana GOP, the Indiana Republican Party Chairwoman Anne Hathaway officially called the caucus for eligible precinct committee members for 10 a.m. on Oct. 7 at the Northview High School Auditorium in Brazil.

The winner will fill the remainder of Sen. Ford’s 2023-2026 term.

Senator Ford announced his resignation from the Indiana Senate on September 15; that resignation will go into effect on Oct. 16.

Those interested in running in the caucus are instructed to contact the secretary of the Indiana Republican Party in order to file the proper forms prior to the deadline, which is 72 hours before the vote.

Greg Goode announced his plans to run for the seat on Sept. 18. No other announcements have been publicly made regarding the seat. Goode is an Indiana State University alum and was named Sen. Todd Young’s state director in December 2022.

Sen. Ford served the 38th District, which covers Vigo, Clay and part of Sullivan counties, since 2014.

There will be a live stream of the caucus made available to the public, although no specific details for the stream have been released.