Illinois officials are hoping to raise awareness about the state’s “Move Over“ law.
So far this year, drivers have hit 14 Illinois State Police cars.
A bill is now at the state capitol that would decrease the penalties for people who do not move over for those vehicles.
The idea behind the decrease is that it would make police more likely to write tickets to those who violate Scott’s Law.
Currently, the minimum fine is $100 when no collision occurs. Under Representative Tim Butler’s proposal, the fine would be capped at just $75.
Butler said the change would lead to more tickets because troopers would not be required to appear in court for each ticket.
But, the new state police director doesn’t necessarily agree.
“I do not see how lowering it would help,“ ISP acting director Brendan Kelly said.
Butler is ready to have that conversation.
“I have worked with the state police on this legislation for over a year now,“ he said. “So, if the director has a different view on it, I would hope that the state police would come and talk to me.“
Butler’s bill would not reduce penalties for drivers who harm an officer while violating Scott’s Law.
Last year at this time, state troopers issued 184 Scott’s Law tickets. This year, that number is already up to 494.