Area students receive state recognition for academic excellence

Local News

Dylan Lemon, a senior at West Vigo High School was named an Indiana Academic All Star. Katie Collins, a senior at Terre Haute North Vigo High School, was named a Regional Academic All Star. (Photo courtesy Vigo County School Corporation)

INDIANAPOLIS – Now in its 35th year, 40 high school seniors, including Dylan Lemon of West Vigo High School, have been named 2021 Indiana Academic All-Stars, a program of the Indiana Association of School Principals.

In addition, 50 other students, including Katie Collins, a senior at Terre Haute North Vigo High School, were recognized as Academic All-Star Regional Honorees. The students were selected from a field of 270 outstanding nominees from the state’s private and public accredited schools.

Academic All-Star distinction recognizes seniors who excel in the classroom first and foremost, but who also are actively involved in their schools and communities, and take on leadership roles in those activities.

The program is produced by the Indiana Association of School Principals, with support provided by DePauw University, Indiana University Bloomington, and Purdue University, along with corporate partner Herff Jones.

The IASP Indiana Academic All-Stars program salutes academic excellence in the same manner that student athletes traditionally are honored. By providing a showcase for academically talented seniors, the sponsoring organizations hope to accomplish the following objectives:

  • Give academic achievement the prestige it deserves;
  • Motivate students to recognize the value of academic excellence;
  • Provide students with an incentive for academic achievement, and
  • Promote a positive image of Indiana’s young people.

Each public and private high school accredited by the Indiana Department of Education may nominate one senior for consideration as an Indiana Academic All-Star. From these nominees, a
selection committee chose the Regional winners and the 40 Indiana Academic All-Stars.

Selection of the school’s nominee is based upon the following considerations:

  • Student transcript, with a focus on Advanced Placement, Dual Credit, International Baccalaureate, and Advanced College Placement classes taken/grades received.
  • Academic achievements and honors, academic courses and academic extracurricular activities.
  • Other extracurricular activities, community service and leadership qualities.

The following are recognized as 2021 Indiana Academic All-Stars:

  • Courtney Albertson, Benton Central Jr./Sr. High School, Oxford
  • Aubrey Campbell, New Palestine High School, New Palestine
  • Praveen Chirumamilla, New Albany High School, New Albany
  • Brooke Comer, North Harrison High School, Ramsey
  • Gloria Coolman, Leo Sr. High School, Leo
  • Michael Davis, Centerville Sr. High School, Centerville
  • Joy Davis, North Montgomery High School, Crawfordsville
  • Jacob Eyster, Mooresville High School, Mooresville
  • Mariah Fulton, Signature School, Inc., Evansville
  • Ray Gao, Hamilton Southeastern High School, Fishers
  • Morgan Guthrie, Hamilton Heights High School, Arcadia
  • Leah Hoeksema, Marion High School, Marion
  • Claire Kaneshiro, International School of Indiana, Indianapolis
  • Elenna Kim, Bloomington High School South, Bloomington
  • Sriya Koganti, Avon High School, Avon
  • Olivia Kroeger, Chesterton High School, Chesterton
  • Allen Kruer, Our Lady of Providence High School, Clarksville
  • Lainie Lawrence, Eastern Hancock High School, Charlottesville
  • Dylan Lemon, West Vigo High School, West Terre Haute
  • Evan Li, Penn High School, Mishawaka
  • Joseph Maffetone, Saint Joseph High School, South Bend
  • Ajay Mahenthiran, North Central High School, Indianapolis
  • Erin Matheny, Eastern High School, Greentown
  • William Messman, Rensselaer Central High School, Rensselaer
  • Josiah Miller, Michigan City High School, Michigan City
  • Shaan Mishra, Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School, Indianapolis
  • Sarah Mullins, Carroll High School, Fort Wayne
  • Mahlon Page, Union County High School, Liberty
  • Maitri Patel, Milan High School, Milan
  • Helaena Pfeiffer, Evansville North High School, Evansville
  • Bryce Rayner, Center Grove High School, Greenwood
  • Rashad Saleem, Plainfield High School, Plainfield
  • Safiya Sankari, Eman Schools, Fishers
  • Shelby Sliger, McCutcheon High School, Lafayette
  • Evan Steffy, South Putnam Middle & High School, Greencastle
  • Grace Timm, North Putnam High School, Roachdale
  • Jason Tung, Crown Point High School, Crown Point
  • Elah Unger-Levinson, Bloomington High School North, Bloomington
  • Megan Wilson, Rossville Middle/Sr. High School, Rossville
  • Marlee Yancey, Brownsburg High School, Brownsburg

The students listed below are recognized as 2021 Regional Academic All-Stars:

  • Rhea Acharya, Carmel High School, Carmel
  • Olivia Allen, North White Middle/High School, Monon
  • James Arnold, South Adams High School, Berne
  • Noelle Baer, Crawfordsville High School, Crawfordsville
  • Brynn Baker, St. Theodore Guerin High School, Noblesville
  • Aidan Bartnicki, Marquette Catholic High School, Michigan City
  • Carlee Biddle, Oak Hill High School, Converse
  • Savannah Bushhorn, South Decatur Jr./Sr. High School, Greensburg
  • Jiapei Chen, Jeffersonville High School, Jeffersonville
  • Olivia Close, Yorktown High School, Yorktown
  • Katie Collins, Terre Haute North Vigo High School, Terre Haute
  • Branson Dao, Warren Central High School, Indianapolis
  • Gianni DiTola, Lake Central High School, St. John
  • Jaiveer Dutta, Decatur Central High School, Indianapolis
  • Abigail Embry, Mitchell High School, Mitchell
  • Benjamin Goffette, Portage High School, Portage
  • Adeline Haacker, Shelbyville High School, Shelbyville
  • Henry Hall, Trinity Lutheran High School, Seymour
  • Jacob Hannon, New Prairie High School, New Carlisle
  • Haylee Henderson, Prairie Heights High School, LaGrange
  • Hannah Hunt, Perry Meridian High School, Indianapolis
  • Skylar Kellogg, Pike High School, Indianapolis
  • Joseph Klapkowski, Highland High School, Highland
  • Logan Koehne, North Decatur Jr./Sr. High School, Greensburg
  • Julia Lin, Park Tudor School, Indianapolis
  • Molly Lusk, Forest Park Jr./Sr. High School, Ferdinand
  • Keerti Mallur, Zionsville Community High School, Zionsville
  • Jacob Martin, Northwestern High School, Kokomo
  • Logan McClain, Gibson Southern High School, Fort Branch
  • Kathleen McCoy, Franklin Central High School, Indianapolis
  • Isaac Michael, Cathedral High School, Indianapolis
  • Meagan Miller, Barr-Reeve Middle/High School, Montgomery
  • Alexis Miller, Westview Jr./Sr. High School, Topeka
  • Aiden Minton, Salem High School, Salem
  • Marissa Munoz, Southport High School, Indianapolis
  • Liam Murphy, Bishop Chatard High School, Indianapolis
  • Daniel Paavola, University High School, Carmel
  • Malea Ramsey, Bloomfield Jr./Sr. High School, Bloomfield
  • Carter Reynolds, Greenwood Community High School, Greenwood
  • Jasmine Roosa, Northeastern High School, Fountain City
  • Cole Scheiman, Kokomo High School, Kokomo
  • Bennett Schmitt, Jasper High School, Jasper
  • Emily Starnes, Tri-West Hendricks Sr. High School, Lizton
  • Natalie Suding, Brown County High School, Nashville
  • Lydia Trabel, East Central High School, St. Leon
  • Evan Voris, Bedford North Lawrence High School, Bedford
  • Aunaka Wasil, Hauser Jr./Sr. High School, Hope
  • Logan Weilbaker, Scottsburg High School, Scottsburg
  • Phoebe Worstell, North Knox Jr./Sr. High School, Bicknell
  • Grace Yang, Fishers High School, Fishers

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories