FARMERSBURG, Ind. (WTWO/WAWV) — Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb has declared a disaster emergency for a number of counties throughout the local area and the state in response to the derecho wind storms that left thousands without power in the Wabash Valley in June.

Signed Friday, the executive order covers Clay, Fountain, Gibson, Johnson, Martin, Spencer, Vermillion, and Vigo Counties.

The governor’s executive order comes in response to the storms of June 29.

“The severe weather that occurred throughout our State during these events has resulted in: the damage and destruction of homes, buildings, and infrastructure; downed trees and power lines causing the loss of power and closure of roads; and tragically, the loss of life and other injuries,” the order reads.

The order is effective immediately and remains in effect for 30 days. It will allow the Indiana Department of Homeland Security to enlist the support of other state agencies to respond to the problems caused by the storm.