SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WTWO/WAWV) – Seven Illinois towns in the Wabash Valley are set to receive funding from the state’s Community Development Block Grant.

Those towns include:

  • Dieterich – $549,945
  • Effingham – $550,000
  • Flat Rock – $550,000
  • Montrose – $550,000
  • Neoga – $550,000
  • Olney – $550,000
  • Sumner – $550,000

A total of $23.5M was awarded for 45 projects across Illinois.

The funding is meant to be used to support housing rehabilitation projects and enable communities in non-metropolitan areas to make critical repairs to water, sewer, and drainage infrastructure to enhance safety and quality of life for residents.

“Our communities deserve up-to-date water facilities and safe, reliable homes – which is why as Governor I have made public infrastructure among my highest priorities,” said Governor JB Pritzker. “These grants will empower cities and towns across the state to improve the quality of life for their residents as we work to ensure every community in every corner of the state has access to the public works they deserve.”

These projects include construction of storm sewer pipes, waterline replacements, hydrant and water storage tank construction, and other critical projects that help mitigate flooding and support sewage management, water delivery and other public water necessities.

State-administered CDBG funds are required to be utilized in areas that do not receive their own funds directly from HUD, with the majority of funds benefitting smaller communities and rural areas.

Local governments were able to request a maximum award of $550,000, with an average grant size for the 2021 program at $517,000.

Preference was given to projects located in underserved areas, opportunity zones and those which proposed a non-state matching component to drive the maximum investment to the area.

When matched with other local funds, the grants will generate repairs valued at nearly $21 million.

The CDBG project is funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). These state-administered funds are earmarked exclusively for non-metropolitan communities that do not receive CDBG entitlement funding from HUD.

All funding will benefit communities with 51 percent or more low-to-moderate income residences, in accordance with CDBG program requirements.