Today is Primary Day in Illinois we’re watching for returns in the race for Governor as well as some races in local counties.

In the Governor’s race, Incumbent Bruce Rauner faced Republican challenger Jeanne Ives.

Rauner came out on top on that race, scoring 51% of the votes compared to Ives’ 49%.

As far as the Democrats, it was a crowded field, with six candidates hoping to win the nomination.

But in the end, billionaire businessman J.B. Pritzer, who spent more than 60-million dollars on his Primary campaign took the victory beating out with Daniel Biss, Chris Kennedy, Tio Hardiman, Bob Daiber and Robert Marshall who trailed the frontrunner.

Looking at some local race results now, in Clark County, two friends and co-workers vied for the title of sheriff on the Republican ticket.

In that race, Bill Brown appears the winner with 65 percent to Derrick Sanders’ 35 percent.

Unless the Democratic Party submits a candidate for the general election, Bill Brown will be the next sheriff in Clark County.

Also in Clark County, Republican Laura Lee wins the race for Clerk-Recorder with more than 60 percent of the votes, easily defeating Gary Downey.

Lee will face Democrat Cheryl Wieland Shull. She ran unopposed in the primary.

Moving on to Crawford County, three men vied for the Republican nomination for sheriff, including Incumbent William Rutan who had no trouble besting his challengers.

Rutan picked up about 67 percent of the vote with David Marqua and Joe Snyder trailing far behind.

Republican Incumbent Fayrene Wright easily wins over James Keller tonight for Crawford County Clerk. Wright grabbed more than 70 percent of the vote.

Switching gears to education issues, the consolidation of Hutsonville and Palestine schools looks like it has failed to win approval.

With the nays outpacing the yes votes, 494 to 317.

And in Richland County, voters were asked if they would okay a one-percent sales tax for school facilities.

By a margin of fewer than 300 votes, the sales tax passes.

For full Illinois 2018 Primary Election results, click here.