Forever Stamp to be issued honoring President George H.W. Bush

hw bush stamp_1559326719754.jpg.jpg

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The U.S. Postal Service is issuing a Forever stamp honoring George Herbert Walker Bush, America’s 41st president, who died on Nov. 30, 2018.

The dedication ceremony for the first day of issue of the stamp will take place at 11 a.m. CDT June 12 at the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center, College Station, TX. The event is free and open to the public. Dedication ceremony attendees are encouraged to RSVP at  

News of the stamp is being shared with the hashtags #GHWBushStamp or #USPresidentsStamps

George Herbert Walker Bush (1924–2018), served as America’s 41st president from 1989 to 1993. 

In addition to serving as vice president under President Reagan, Bush held a number of other senior leadership roles including Ambassador to the United Nations, Chairman of the Republican National Committee, Chief of the U.S. Liaison Office in China, and Director of Central Intelligence. 

George H.W. Bush was the first sitting vice president elected president since Martin van Buren in 1836, and one of only two presidents to have a son who also served as Commander-in-Chief. 

Customers may purchase stamps and other philatelic products through the Postal Store at, by calling 800-STAMP24 (800-782-6724), by mail through USA Philatelic or at Post Office locations nationwide.

The Postal Service receives no tax dollars for operating expenses and relies on the sale of postage, products and services to fund its operations.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories