TERRE HAUTE, Ind. (WTWO/WAWV) – It was a night of emotion and pride as the Terre Haute Police Department held its 28th annual THPD Officers Recognition and Commendation Dinner.  The special event was sponsored by First Financial Bank.

Late Officer Rob Pitts was awarded the Medal of Honor and Officer of the Year.   Members of the Pitts family accepted the awards.

Retired WTWO anchor Tom McClannahan was on hand for the welcome and introduction.  Other dignitaries at the event included: Terre Haute Mayor Duke Bennett, THPD Chief Shawn Keen and President and CEO of First Financial Bank Norman Lowery.   The event was held at I.S.U.’s Hulman Memorial Student Union.

A number of awards were presented during the dinner.  They included the following winners:

Mike Dinkle Memorial Award – Joanna Johnson, Civilian Service Award – Brian Payne, Combat Crosses – Lt. Gary Shook, Sgt. Joseph Pearce and Det. Brian Bourbeau, Honorable Service Award – Dets. Sanford Scott and Starla Neidigh and Lifesaving Award – David Brewer and Daniel Johnson.